Simple Syrup Recipes to make your own pop.

Strawberry Syrup
Strawberry juice, 1 pint; simple syrup, 3 pints; solution of citric acid, 2 drams.  Mix and boil a few minutes, strain.  When the syrup is cooled put it in a container and refrigerate.  Mix with Soda water to taste.
 
 
Lemon/lime syrup
1/2 cup lemon juice, 1/2 lime juice, 2 1/2 cups white sugar, add the zest of the lemon and lime. Mix and boil a few minutes, strain.  When the syrup is cooled put it in a container and refrigerate.  Mix with Soda water to taste.
 
 
Vanilla cream syrup
Fluid extract of vanilla, 1 ounce; simple syrup, 3 pints; cream or condensed milk, 1 pint; Mix and boil a few minutes, strain.  When the syrup is cooled put it in a container and refrigerate.  Mix with Soda water to taste.
 
Cola Recipe
2 teaspoons lemonade or lemon flavored instant iced tea
1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
Sweeten with 1 teaspoon sugar or add sugar substitute to taste.
1/4 C cold black coffee.
a Pinch of black pepper.
Mix well and keep in a container.  Mix to taste with soda water.
 
Ginger Ale
3 Quarts chilled club soda
2 cups Fresh ginger
chopped and crushed make sure to remove the peel.
Zest from one lemon.
1 1/2 c Sugar 
Combine ginger, lemon zest, and 4 cups of water into a pan and boil.  After this has boiled combine the rest of the ingredients and create a syrup.  Put in airtight container and add to Soda water to taste.
About I LOVE Soda

I drink way to much soda. On a trip to Atlanta for a teachers convention the highlight of my trip was my Coke museum tour. I've tasted Soda (or Pop as we usually call it) from around the world and don't plan on stopping.
This entry was posted in Soda and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Simple Syrup Recipes to make your own pop.

  1. Barbara says:

    I’ve made a similar vanilla creme recipe, I recommend it to everyone.

  2. Ellie Foster says:

    I was actually looking for recipes for something else but happened upon your blog. I had the time so I tried making the vanilla cream, wow it tasted like something you would get at a diner. I had to share these with my brother in law, he makes his own carmel sauces that he adds to everything. I think he’ll start making his own pop recipes.

  3. ilovesoda says:

    @Barbara, how did your recipe differ, would you mind sharing?

    @Ellie, I’m very happy you tried one of the recipes so quickly. You also tried one of the harder ones. If your brother-in-law does come up with a carmel recipe ask him if he will share with everyone. I think a carmel soda would be great!

  4. kc says:

    was searching on how to make homemade soda the soda these days r just way to bad for anyones health was wondering if anyone has tried the cola one and what it taste like the ingredients are interesting i think i might try it ! cant wait! 🙂

    • I LOVE Soda says:

      I have tried the cola one and actually made some family members try it also. I thought it was pretty good. I did it with and without sugar. I think everyone has to change it a little to suit their taste but it was actually cola like. Try it and let me know what you think.
      I also made the ginger ale and love it. Once again you can switch around the sugar to taste or use an artificial sugar.

  5. kc says:

    might also try the vanilla cream one to 🙂 Have you tried the soda stream if so do you recommend it and have any tips about it? Thanks 🙂

    • I LOVE Soda says:

      Hi,
      Thanks for the comments.
      I HAVE tried the Soda Stream and LOVE it. I’m usually very skeptical about gadgets because when I do buy something they tend not to work. I can’t say enough about the Soda Stream. What you see on their web site is what you get. I also really like the flavors they offer. If you have a Bed, Bath and Beyond near you I would use the 20 percent coupon that comes out to purchase the Soda Stream if you choose to buy one.

  6. kc says:

    thanks for your fast response very appreciative! 🙂 Do you think the cola has the flavor of pepsi im a pepsi fan not much of a coke fan or is better than the flavor of both of those 😀 im still gunna try it when i have time plus it doesnt have that much sugar in it at all which is a big plus 😀 Thanks cant wait to hear back from you 🙂 PS Do you have a facebook page 😀 and Love your blog do you know of any other good soda blogs? Thanks

    • I LOVE Soda says:

      I would say it’s a bit more Pepsi like over Coke. I think Pepsi is a bit more citrusy flavored then Coke. You might want to water down the coffee a little if you aren’t a fan of the coffee flavor. It’s amazing how you can tweek the flavor to change it a little. I’ve seen some recipes that have a lot of cinnamon and nutmeg and some that have very little.
      I don’t have a soda fb page. There aren’t a lot of blogs that strictly talk about soda as far as I know. I have typed in Soda and Soda discussions and have found a few but not specific to the topic. If you go to Soda Stream they do have a group of people that blog. I will search for blogs and list any I find in a future post.
      One other thing about the Soda Stream brand, according to them even their sugared sodas have less calories then most regular soda products. On their web site they have product information which I find very helpful. You can try thier flavors if you go to Bed, Bath and Beyond there is a sample pack for twelve dollors *That’s the price off the top of my head* I think there are 12 flavors to try and each will fill a one litre soda bottle. I tried them in a generic bottle of sparkling soda before I purchased the large bottle.
      Once again thanks for the comments.

  7. kc says:

    was also wondering if i could sub lemon flavor ice tea for the instance mix don”t have the mix on hand but will make it again when i get some instance how much of the liquid lemon flavor ice tea would you think i would need? Thanks

    • I LOVE Soda says:

      I actually didn’t have dry lemon iced tea so I used regular tea with some liquid lemon, I used what I called a squirt probably a teaspoon full. When I finished I tasted the mix before I added the seltzer to it. I added a little bit of Real Lime liquid about a quarter of a teaspoon.

Leave a Reply

