I made my own Root Beer.

http://www.mrbeer.com/category-exec/category_id/179

I used the Mr Beer Root Beer kit to make my own root beer.  I thought I would make this with my Nephew Sullivan.  Sullivan loves science and he loves root beer so it was a perfect match.  Now if you have a child who is impatient this might not be the project for you, from start to finish it took one and a half weeks.  It was very simple we followed the directions and made very little mess (not a simple task).  Making soda is very much like making beer or wine, I’ve done both and have enjoyed the process.  When you make soda you use yeast just like in beer.  The big difference in the process is that you stop the fermentation from creating alcohol.  We waited for the yeast to eat the sugar to create the carbonation.  When we opened the bottle we got a huge whiff of root beer.  I took a tiny sip to make sure it tasted close to a root beer soda, it did.  I gave Sullivan the honor of the first drink, he smiled and finished the glass.  Now if I had to rate my own root beer based on some of my favorites it really would only get a two out of ten but with this batch it was more about the experience rather than the actual taste.

About I LOVE Soda

I drink way to much soda. On a trip to Atlanta for a teachers convention the highlight of my trip was my Coke museum tour. I've tasted Soda (or Pop as we usually call it) from around the world and don't plan on stopping.
This entry was posted in Soda and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I made my own Root Beer.

  1. Jenny says:

    That sounds like fun. I was wondering how that kit worked, I hated spending the money until I knew someone that used it. Where are you located or did you buy the kit online?

  2. Tim says:

    I’m not too big on root beer but I do want to make my own Pop, can I do this with other flavors?

  3. Faith says:

    Would this flavoring work on the Soda Stream you talked about in your earlier blog? I’m not sure if I want to deal with the whole yeast thing.

  4. ilovesoda says:

    Faith,
    I have not had the opportunity to use the Soda Stream but I will try to answer to the best of my ability. If you read Soda Streams info on the web site I believe using the root beer flavoring would work. You are right the yeast method is not as easy. The kit comes with a root beer flavoring liquid. There is a lot of liquid with the kit. I would make a simple syrup then add the root beer flavoring. You will have to play with the amount of syrup you add to the carbonated water. Hope this helps.

  5. Elaine says:

    My family always made homemade root beer when I was a kid. I do not like root beer normally but I did love our homemade root beer. We bottled it and had a bottle capper and the whole deal.

  6. ilovesoda says:

    I imagine homemade root beer from scratch would taste a lot better then from a kit. I think you would be able to play with the flavors a bit more then with a premade flavor liquid. Do you still have the receipe Elaine?

  7. Ellen says:

    Had no idea you could make root beer at home. Not a big root beer fan, but would be interested in other flavors!

    • ilovesoda says:

      Root Beer was one of the first soda ever created, it’s been around for centuries. Some can be very earthy flavored while others are very harsh. Then there are the creamy, soothing and heavinly flavored Root Beers. Now I am thirsty and must find a root beer.

Leave a Reply

