Homemade soda

There are various way to make soda.

I won’t go into the science behind carbonation, I’m going to make is simple.

Start with your standard seltzer or club soda.  Add a variety of flavors to the bubbly water.

Ideas.

Ginger ale.  Ginger is found in the produce section of your grocery store.  There is fresh or crystalized ginger you can use either one.  Make a simple syrup with one part sugar and one part water boil until you have the consistency of maple syrup.  Add the ginger as little or as much as you like.   I like my ginger ale on the spicy throat burning side but it’s up to you.   Once again the strength is up to you.  Cool the syrup and add to taste to the soda water.

Cream soda

1 cup of water
1 cup of honey or sugar.  Honey gives it a subtle unique flavor.
1 or 2 tablespoons of  Pure vanilla extract.  I also like to add a vanilla bean to the water while I’m making the syrup.

Boil all the ingredients in a pot into a syrup. Add to club water or seltzer water to taste.

About I LOVE Soda

I drink way to much soda. On a trip to Atlanta for a teachers convention the highlight of my trip was my Coke museum tour. I've tasted Soda (or Pop as we usually call it) from around the world and don't plan on stopping.
This entry was posted in Soda. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade soda

  1. Jamie says:

    I bet if you added some orange zest to the cream soda receipe it would be great! Dreamsicle!

Leave a Reply

