Non Cola Sodas

I guess now would be the time to do a disclaimer, I primarily drink diet sodas.  In the process of thinking of this blog I have ventured out into the regular soda flavors and will review them with an open mind. 🙂

So my favorite Sodas are of the cola variety but I do enjoy a variety of flavors.  Lets start with the lemon-limes.  I would say the two most popular are Sprite and 7-Up.  People might think they are interchangeable but that would be a huge mistake.  Sprite is much more tangy with a bit of a bite in the back of the throat.  7-Up  has a milder flavor verging on earthy.  You might ask what I mean by earthy, well it is hard to explain.  I find the same sort of after taste with 7-Up that tequila has strange as that might sound.  It’s as though it’s been strained though a bit of dirt.  It’s not that I don’t like 7-Up but it’s definitely different then Sprite.  I find Sprite to be much livelier with a strong citrus flavor.  I guess if I had to do a comparison it would be as though Sprite has the same throat burn that TAB has, which I do enjoy.  7-Up reminds me a bit of Pepsi, it’s okay but less satisfying. 

Now to compare Mt. Dew and Mello Yello.  I was never a drinker of either until the last few years.  Now with these two I have no preference.  I have friends who would never interchange the two.  I like both and enjoy the flavor though I would never really call them citrus flavored.  I can’t really define the actual flavors but they are enjoyable.  I also don’t feel the caffeine kick that Mt. Dew is supposed to have so I won’t bring that into the mix.  I guess if there is a difference I think it would be that contrary to the name Mello Yello has a little more flavor, it isn’t as muddled as Mt. Dew.

I’ve tried doing taste comparisons with the orange sodas, it isn’t easy due to the twang.  What you might ask is twang?  To me twang is the pucker factor in drink or flavor.  I will be doing a comparison when I have a cracker or piece of bread to clear the pallet, much like wine tasting.  I do know that I enjoy the Faygo brand that is sold in the Midwest.  I will get back to this in the future.

Now when it comes to Tonic Water some people don’t even consider this a real soda alternative.  I grew up drinking Tonic Water as a soda.  I now also enjoy it as a mixer.  I don’t mind the no name brands in Tonic but the brand names variety are a bit better tasting.   Schweppes versus Canfields is much like the Coke versus Pepsi war.  I would have to say for me Canfields wins.  This is just because it’s what I drank as a kid and no other reason; sometimes tradition wins.

That concludes this non cola thought for the day!

About I LOVE Soda

I drink way to much soda. On a trip to Atlanta for a teachers convention the highlight of my trip was my Coke museum tour. I've tasted Soda (or Pop as we usually call it) from around the world and don't plan on stopping.
This entry was posted in Soda. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

